News Release

Changes to Pacific Area Presidency Announced

Changes to the Pacific Area Presidency of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, as well as other leadership assignments around the world, were announced today in the Church News.

The current Pacific Area Presidency comprises Elder K. Brett Nattress, President; Elder Peter F. Meurs, First Counselor; and Elder Taniela B. Wakolo, Second Counselor. 

As of 1 August 2023, the new Pacific Area Presidency will include Elder Peter F. Meurs, President; Elder Taniela B. Wakolo, First Counselor; and Elder Jeremy R. Jaggi, Second Counselor.


In each area, a General Authority Seventy is assigned by the First Presidency to serve as the Area President. Two counselors, who are General Authority Seventies or Area Seventies, are assigned to assist the president. The Area Presidency works under the direction of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles.

Area Presidencies outside of the United States live in the area where they serve and often travel within that area to teach and support Church members, missionaries, leaders, and temple presidents and matrons.

Read more about Area Presidencies here.

Read more about the leadership changes here.

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.