News Release

Ninth Latter-day Saint Stake Created in French Polynesia

The ninth stake of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints was organized in French Polynesia last Sunday to accommodate a growing number of members in the territory.


The new stake is called the Tahiti Taravao Stake and is composed of six congregations.  (A stake is a group of Latter-day Saint congregations in a geographical area, similar to a diocese in other Christian churches.)

Elder O. Vincent Haleck, General Authority Seventy and Pacific Area President of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, made the announcement of the new stake in a weekend conference where Church members gathered to be spiritually uplifted and taught by Church leaders.

The leader of the new Tahiti Taravao Stake is President Rupe Parker. His counsellors in the new stake presidency are President Henry Perry and President Nicolas Maihota.

Elder Haleck was joined at the conference by Elder Benjamin T. Sinjoux, the senior Church leader in French Polynesia.

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.